The Herbert H. Denton, Jr.
Memorial Scholarship

A College Scholarship In Honor of an Exceptional Journalist

The Herbert H. Denton Jr. Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior from a select group of high schools in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Since 1990, one recipient has been chosen each year in honor of Herbert H. Denton, Jr, a distinguished reporter, editor and foreign correspondent for The Washington Post, and mentor to developing journalists. Past Denton scholars have graduated from colleges large and small, private and public, and have gone on to careers that include medicine, investment banking, education, government, public health, law, and journalism.

The Friends of Herb Denton Committee selects the scholar from students officially nominated by the 17 participating schools: Barrie School, Benjamin Banneker Academic High School, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School, DuVal High School, Eastern High School, Georgetown Preparatory School, H.D. Woodson High School, Jackson-Reed High School, KIPP D.C. College Preparatory Public Charter School, McKinley Technology High School, The Potomac School (McLean), St. Albans School, The School Without Walls, Thurgood Marshall Academy, The Washington International School, Washington Latin Public Charter School, West Potomac High School. The three primary selection criteria for the scholarship are general character and academic achievement, demonstrated ability in non-fiction writing, and financial need.

Do you attend one of the qualifying schools?

Click for more information.